State DUI laws vary and a dui attorney in Ohio can guide you through the dui laws in the state if you are facing charges. First of all, in Ohio, driving under the influence or DUI is known as operating a vehicle under the influence or OVI.
Second, state dui laws in Ohio are very strict and about one of every seven licensed drivers in the state – that’s more than 1.1 million people – has at least one driving while impaired conviction. And according to the Ohio Department of Public Safety, there are 44,789 people in Ohio who have have five or more OVI convictions.
State laws vary
The BAC or Blood Alcohol Count limit in Ohio is .02 % for individuals under the age of 21. An
OVI conviction in Ohio may require a fine from $250 to $1000. There may also be jail the involved.
Even if it is your first dui conviction, you can get six points on your license. There is also be a license restatement fee of $450 for first dui offenses in Ohio. Your drivers license might even be suspended following OVI convictions in Ohio.
Finding a good lawyer to represent you is essential
These penalties are just the immediate consequences of a dui conviction. There are long-term repercussions which can harm your ability to get a job or a loan, buy a house etc. OVI charges are very serious matter and if you are facing due charges in Ohio, you need to find a good lawyer.
A criminal defense attorney will be able to advise you on how to fight your case, and how to minimize or mitigate the consequences of a conviction. For example, police have to provide evidence of suspicious driving for pulling you over. Having a good dui attorney in Ohio, who understands state laws and procedures, on your side is the best step you can take if you are facing charges.